RSS

Blog hopping the globe

14 Nov

Hello. It’s great to be part of this “blog hop”. Thanks to Joleene Naylor of Amaranthine series fame for tagging me. Below are ten questions, along with my answers. And below that, some other people who you should definitely check out.

What is the working title of your book?

Kaos.

Where did the idea come from?

Dostoevsky. While working on my previous novel, The Russian Idea, I read quite a lot of this great writer’s work, including a few of his later novels, Demons and the one variously titled A Raw Youth and The Adolescent. While I was reading these and thinking about Dostoevsky’s great themes, the story line for Kaos came to me.

What is the genre?

Thriller…but I hope readers will conclude Kaos transcends its genre while following the rules.

What actors would you choose for a film version?

Meryl Streep for the principal female lead would be good. and two British actors able to pretend at least to be around fifty for the two principal males leads: Anthony Hopkins though he is older than that, and Daniel Craig or Dominic West for the other.

A one-sentence synopsis…

The road to hell is paved with fun.

‘Will it be self-published?

Yes.

How long did it take to write the first draft?

It’s not finished yet. Usually my books take up to six months to get the first draft done, but sometimes it is quicker than that, and once it took nearly a year. As I have gone back to er “gainful employment’ on a one year contract, with eight months to run, it is going to take rather longer. I find it hard to write fiction when I owe my first allegiance to an exacting employer.

What other books in your genre would you compare this one with?

It probably makes me seem big-headed to say so, but it is most like Demons.

Who or what inspired you to write this one?

Inspiration comes from many places, and it would not be right to single anything out, at least in public, apart from what I’ve already said. You will find more about my attitudes and influences on my blog on goodreads and wordpress.

What would pique the reader’s interest?

My books have plenty of thrills, chills, and spills…and sex. This one is pretty erotic, so far, and there is more to come. Readers who like a “subterranean story” with an intellectual dimension might enjoy it. As they might have to wait awhile, they could always try my existing titles, which are on smashwords. Thanks for reading.

Steve Evans

Emily Guido – http://www.emilyguido.com/

DM Yates – http://dmyatesbelieveinyourself.blogspot.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Blog hopping the globe

  1. Joleene Naylor

    November 15, 2012 at 2:56 am

    yay! Thanks for playing along, Steve! I like your one sentence synopsis! That’s an awesome hook right there!

     

Leave a Reply

 
